NAWO Elder Awards for Two Deserving Soroptimists

Pictured at the award ceremony are: left to right: Liz Batten, Pam Lee, Wendi Momen, Audrey Forster, Jenny Vince, Barbara Watts, Hilary Page, Pat Black and Margaret Clark.

On a very warm July day, two longstanding Soroptimists were honoured by the National Alliance of Women’s Organisations (NAWO) at a gathering in Europe House, Smith Square, London. Zarin Hainsworth OBE, Chair of NAWO, introduced the Elder Awards, which were set up to celebrate the work of feminists who are over 80, are still heavily involved in the women’s movement, and who by their work have inspired others.

Audrey Forster was nominated for her work in the Girl Guiding movement over many decades, with the church and the Mothers’ Union as well as for her longterm service to SIGBI through SI Preston.

Hilary Page, now a member of SI Epsom, was nominated for her many years of service to Soroptimist International at every level including two years as International President and her work within the UK women’s movement including establishing Gender Action for Peace and Security (GAPS).

The three winners left to right: Audrey Forster, Hilary Page and Annette Lawson

Several Soroptimists were in attendance to see them receive their awards and to congratulate them on their achievement