Programme of events 2019


Welcome to the programme of our club events between now and the Christmas 2019

CLUB PROGRAMME 2019-20

Mon 16th Sept
Dr June McCombie, University of Nottingham, on her work to encourage girls into STEM careers. We want more girls in science!
Wed 18th Sept
Fashion Show, John Godber Centre, Hucknall an exciting money raising opportunity! See separate information.
Monday 7th Oct
One of our newer members, Mary, will tell us a bit about herself and career; we call it a ‘My Job’ talk.
Mon 21st Oct
Club Business, Programme action
Thurs 24th- Sat 26th Oct
SIGBI Federation Conference, Bournemouth. A small group of members will be attending and will report back to club.
Mon 4th Nov
Programme Action Evening (including assembling moving on packs).
Sat 16th Nov
Region Meeting, Link Hotel, Loughborough
Mon 18th Nov
International Evening: Our annual evening when we consider the work done by Soroptimists round the world. Jacqui Parnell will tell us about the latest project, which will be announced in October at the Annual Conference.
Mon 2nd Dec Want to continuously improve, achieve and maintain wellbeing? Our Speaker, Beverley Burton, Manager of her Company, Equipped2 Succeed, will tell you how
Mon 16th Dec
Christmas Dinner

Summer 2019

Mon 20th May

Examples of the Work of the Nottingham Soroptimist Trust in the last year.

“Aim of the Nottingham Soroptimist Trust – the Advancement of education and relief of hardship of women and girls in Notts”

Mon 3rd June

 Speaker: Micha Bradshaw ‘You, Me, PTSD and my journey of resiliency’

Followed by Programme Action making up welcome packs (for distribution to Nottingham Women’s Refuges).

Mon 17th June

About our new meeting place. Speaker Joanna Green, Vice Principal gives an Introduction to Emmanuel School, where we will hold our meetings from 20 May.

Sat 1 June

Facing challenges and the need to think positively?:  A SIGBI interactive development day at Nottingham University will help (For SI Members only)

Sat 22nd June

Region Meeting, Link Hotel, Loughborough.

A get together with other Soroptimists groups in the East Midlands

Mon 1st July

Judging submissions for Journalism AwardOur annual competition for final year Journalism students of The Nottingham Trent University Centre for Broadcasting and Journalism.

Mon 15th July

WeRHere: An update of current work by Hilary Brown, founder.

Followed by Accessories sale to raise funds for Programme Action.  

Sun 11th August

Garden Party at Ron and Sue’s home