In 1962 three new Clubs were charted in the Caribbean to join the first Club, S.I. of Port of Spain. These Clubs were in three countries, two of which were fully independent – Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica, the third country Barbados soon to enjoy full Independence.

In consultation with Federation Officers, who were also enthused with the idea of having a grouping of Soroptimist Clubs in the Caribbean, steps were started to establish regional council and at a meeting held in Jamaica, in September 1973 a Resolution was passed for the formation of the Caribbean Area Council. Dr. Kitty Henriques was elected the first President, Dr. Elise Robinson – Vice President, Cynthia Bertie – Extension Officer from Trinidad, the President Elect from Barbados, Dorothy LaCroix was appointed secretary and Nancy Mae Tapper, Treasurer.


  1. to unite the Soroptimist Clubs in the Area;
  2. to promote the formation of new Clubs within its Territorial Area;
  3. to act as a court of Appeal within the Area;
  4. to promote the objects of Soroptimist; and
  5. to promote or provide a link with the government and other bodies.

Current countries: Anguilla, Barbados, Grenada, Jamaica, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago and Turks and Caicos.