Club Diary 2019-20


The History of the Bilston Badge

The Bilston Club was formed in 1943 but owing to war restrictions no metal was available to make a badge. Two members gave silver soup ladles and spoons. The badge was created at the Bilston College of Art.   The Staffordshire Knot is to unite.  Bilston stood by its faith and industry portrayed by a man and woman holding a lamp.  Two martlets and swifts complete the design.

 

Meetings are held on the first Tuesday and the third Thursday in the month. Tuesday meetings at Swanmore Community Centre, Wolverhampton are devoted to Soroptimist business with a strong emphasis on Programme Action.  The other meeting is a Dinner meeting with a speaker held at Linden House, Tettenhall Road Wolverhampton, WV6 0DD starting at 7.30pm.

 

Club Charities 2019/2020:

THE SAMARITANS

 

Friendship Links:

SI North Jamaica,

SI Brixham Devon

www.sigbi.org/bilston-and-district

 

Soroptimist International Vision, Mission and Goals:

Vision

Soroptimist International is a vibrant, dynamic organisation for today’s professional and business women. We are committed to a world where women and girls together achieve their individual and collective potential, realise aspirations and have an equal voice in creating strong and peaceful communities worldwide.

Mission

Soroptimists inspire action and create opportunities to transform the lives of women and girls through a global network of members and international partnerships.

Goals

Soroptimists will ensure that women and girls:

  • Enjoy equity and equality
  • Live in safe and healthy environments
  • Have access to education
  • Have leadership and practical skills

 

 Club Programme

2019-2020

www.sigbi.org/bilston-and-district
      twitter@SIBilstonClub

2019-2020 Dinner Meetings:
Venue: 3rd Thursday in the month at Linden House, Tettenhall
Road, Wolverhampton WV6 ODD
Thurs 18th Apr Georgie Savage, The Samaritans
Thurs 16th May John Chapman, Bletchley Park
Thurs 20th June Keith Oram, Two female artists
Thurs 18th July Jan Kellond, Tab’s Kitchen
No meeting in August
Sun 29th Sep 76th Charter lunch, South Staffs Golf Club
Thurs 17th Oct Carolyn Parkes, Living and working with the
Inuit in Labrador
Thurs 21st Nov Geoff Catling, Life in occupied Berlin
Thurs 19th Dec A Christmas entertainment
Thurs 16th Jan Simon Archer, From painter to publisher
Thurs 20th Feb International evening
Thurs 19th Mar Presentation of cheques

Business Meetings:
Venue: 1st Tuesday in the month at Swanmore
Community Centre, Bradmore, Wolverhampton
WV3 7JY at 19.30
Tues 2nd April AGM and installation of new
President
Tues 7th May
Tues 4th June
Tues 2nd July
No meeting in August
Tues 3rd Sep
Tues 1st Oct
Tues 5th Nov
Tues 3rd Dec
Tues 7th Jan
Tues 4th Feb
Tues 3rd Mar

 

 

 

 

r.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.