Skip links

Women of Note

Swansea’s current Honorary member is Mrs Elizabeth Rowe Mitchell who was President in 1989

Miss Gwyneth Watkins, daughter of founder member Mrs Dorothy Watkins, was a member of Swansea club until she recently moved away.

Miss Margaret Kirkland was President in1935. In 1929, she became the first woman elected to the post of President of the Boot Trade Federation, the first woman to be elected to any trade association in the United Kingdom. In 1934 she became the first woman to be elected President to the Swansea Chamber of Trade.

Mrs Barbara Rees, President 1979, was the first woman President of the Law Society in Swansea

Mrs Elizabeth Row Mitchell was Swansea’s Honorary member until her death in 2016. She was President in 1989.

These women were featured in the Gallery of  “Wonderful Welsh Women” exhibition in the Waterfront Museum in Swansea to celebrate the Centenary of International Women’s day in 2011.