Skip links


Club Programme of Events

Programme of events for the Club’s 64th Year 2020-2021 

The regular physical Club Programme is currently suspended due to the Coronovirus pandemic. Scroll to the bottom of the page for information about our meetings in normal times.

We are holding regular Zoom meetings – details below. If you would like to attend an event, be a speaker, or are considering membership, please click on “Contact Us” on this website, or email sistalbans@hotmail.com Guests are always given a warm welcome so please come and meet us – we will send instructions so that you can join our virtual meetings online or by telephone.

For guidance on joining a Club meeting on Zoom please click on this web page www.sigbi.org/st-albans/zoom

In August the Club traditionally has an “Outing” – with COVID-19 this remains flexible as to what this will be and meanwhile we propose the two virtual events below.

Fri 14 August 11am to 12pm Virtual Coffee morning – to join in please click on “Contact Us” on this website, or email sistalbans@hotmail.com

Mon 24 August – 3pm to 4pm Virtual Afternoon Tea – to join in please click on “Contact Us” on this website, or email sistalbans@hotmail.com

Sep to Dec to Denise Powell and Ameeta Sabharwal to chair meetings

Sat 5 Sep Earthworks Summer Fair TBC www.earthworksstalbans.co.uk

Mon 14 Sep – Club Meeting TBC  (note Sep 8  Int Literacy Day)

Mon Sep 28 – Speaker Meeting TBA (note Sep 21 Int Day of Peace)

Mon Oct 12 – Club Meeting + Prep for Conference (note Oct 10 World Mental Health Day and Oct 11 Int’l Day of the Girl Child)

Sat 10 Oct 2020 – SI London Chilterns AGM/Conference on Zoom – timings TBC

Mon Oct 26  – Social TBA

Fri 30 to Sat 31 Oct – SIGBI Annual Conference ONLINE from Belfast “We Stand Up for Women” www.sigbi.org/belfast2020/

Mon 9 Nov – Club Meeting TBC + Feedback from Oct Region Meeting and Conference (note Nov 19 is World Toilet Day)

Mon 23 Nov – Soroptimist Event TBC from the Violence Against Women Team (Nov 25 is the Int’l Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women and starts 16 days of action 25 Nov to 10 Dec Human Rights Day)

Sat 28 Nov Earthworks Christmas Fair TBC www.earthworksstalbans.co.uk

Mon Dec 7  – TBC – Carol singing at St Albans Station – fundraising event (note 10 Dec is Human Rights Day)

Sat 12 Dec – SI London Chilterns Region Human Rights Day event 

2021

Jan to Apr Jane Slatter and Barbara Saunders to chair meetings

Mon 11 Jan – Club Meeting – Post-Christmas catch up + feedback from Region HR Day

Mon 25 Jan – Speaker TBA    

Mon 8 Feb – Club Meeting 

Tue 16 Feb – Pancake Day St Albans in aid of Homestart Herts     

Mon 22 Feb – Social event TBA

Sat 13 Mar TBC  – SI London Chilterns Region Meeting for International Women’s Day     

Mon 8 Mar – Club Meeting + feedback from Region meeting (note 8 Mar Int’l Women’s Day)

Mon 22 Mar – Speaker TBA   (note 22 Mar World Water Day)

Mar ?    Fundraising Quiz – TBA

Mon 12 Apr – Club Meeting or Social Event TBA (note 7 Apr World Health Day)

Mon 26 Apr – AGM    Redbourn ?

The Soroptimist Club of St Albans and District holds Club Meetings on the 2nd Monday of most months at Chiswell Green United Reformed Church Hall, Watford Road, St Albans, AL2 3HG. Doors open at 7.45pm for 8pm start, coffee break during the meeting and end at 10pm. Club Members also meet on 4th Mondays – either at the URC Church Hall (as above) – or out and about at other venues. Coffee mornings are usually a morning in the 1st week of the month from 10.30am to 12.30pm and are held at different venues. In addition there are social and fundraising events.

Our Club’s Executive Officers meet on the first Tuesday of most months – the schedule is on this website www,sigbi.org/st-albans/club-programme/exec/. We are an open and transparent Club and Members’ are welcome to attend and participate in these meetings.

Women Serving the St Albans Community Since 1957