Skip links

Region History

Soroptimist International  1921 – 2021

Celebrating 100 Years

In 1934 the Federation of Great Britain & Ireland (SIGBI) was formed

As early as 1935 it was necessary to form 9 Divisional Unions (DU),  Each DU sending a representative to Federation meetings

The North West Divisional Union

North West DU covered an area from Carlisle to Wrexham. There were initially 6 clubs – Liverpool, Southport, Manchester, North Wirral, Fylde & Blackburn. By 1939  Bootle, Crosby, Preston, Bolton, Stockport, Morecombe & SI Wrexham had joined.

Soroptimist International Cheshire, North Wales & Wirral Region

First Charter Photos of clubs – shown in order of their Charter

Fifteen clubs working in the Region Cheshire North Wales & Wirral

To read the History of our Region through WW11 copied from archives SI CNWW – WORLD WAR 11

In 1945 The North West DU was divided into 3 subdivisions

The 3 divisions were North, Central & South. The Southern subdivision became the Divisional Union of Cheshire, North Wales & Wirral in 1949 and included Birkenhead, SI Wrexham Bebington, Hoylake & West Kirby, Wallasey, SI Ellesmere Port, 1st Chester Club, Runcorn/Frodsham, Nantwich, Northwich, Heswall & Bangor

Colwyn Bay & Denbigh joined in 1951 and later in the 1960’s Llangollen, Llandudno, Rhyl, Anglesey, Mold & Deeside and Knutsford. In 1977 SI Dyffryn Conwy was chartered

The New Chester club was reformed in 2014 – the first Chester Club having sadly closed in 2000

Please click on highlighted clubs for Club History

Wales Clubs

In 1965  A boundary was formally drawn between the DU of Cheshire, North Wales & Wirral & the Divisional Union of South Wales.  Before that the boundary had been fluid & Welsh clubs joined divisional unions according to choice.

The DU of Cheshire North Wales & Wirral continued to expand and in the 1970s Dyffryn Conwy and South Caernarfon were chartered, followed in 1980 by Dolgellau. In 1975 there was further reconfiguration and the Region of SI Cheshire, North Wales & Wirral was formed

In 1985 a booklets produced to  celebrate 50 years of Soroptimist International Cheshire North Wales & Wirral click here to see photographed copy 50 years of SI of Cheshire North Wales & Wirral 1935 – 1985

Llangollen International Musical Eisteddfod

SI Llangollen was chartered in 1960 and from the early 1970’s the club was very much involved with the Eisteddfod, working tirelessly in the organisation and support on the field. As the Eisteddfod grew more support was needed and the Divisional Union of Cheshire, North Wales & Wirral, as it was then known then became involved . The Region is still involved today 2022 and each year has run an information and hospitality tent at the Eisteddfod.

Please click here for Anne MacDonalds report written in February 2011

Clubs working in the Region of Cheshire North Wales & Wirral



Bangor & District



Denbigh, Ruthin & District

Heswall & District

Llandudno & District

Nantwich & District

Northwich & District

Rhyl & District

Runcorn, Frodsham & District

South Caernarfonshire

Unfortunately a number of clubs really important to our Region have now closed:

SI Ellesmere Port

SI Birkenhead

Wallasey Chartered 1946 – Closed 2022

Hoylake & West Kirby Chartered 1946 – closed 2019

SI Dyffryn Conwy Chartered 1977– Closed 2017

SI Wrexham Chartered 1939 – Closed 2016

Dolgellau Chartered 1980 – Closed 2016

Colwyn Bay & District Chartered 1951 – Closed 2012

Llangollen Chartered 1960 – Closed 2008

Knutsford & District Chartered 1966 – Closed 2001

The first Chester Club Chartered in 1940 – Closed in 2000

Mold & Deeside Chartered 1962 – Closed 1998