Region History

Soroptimist International Celebrates 100 Years in 2021



Soroptimists in Great Britain – In the Beginning

Two years after the first club was formed in America, in 1923 the Greater London Club was formed in Great Britain, extension began and more clubs were formed.


In 1934 the Federation of Great Britain & Ireland (SIGBI) was formed

As early as 1935 it was necessary to form 9 Divisional Unions (DU),  Each DU sending a representative to Federation meetings

The North West Divisional Union

North West DU covered an area from Carlisle to Wrexham. There were initially 6 clubs – Liverpool, Southport, Manchester, North Wirral, Fylde & Blackburn. By 1939  Bootle, Crosby, Preston, Bolton, Stockport, Morecombe & Wrexham had joined.

To read the history of our Region through WW11 copied from archives SI CNWW – WORLD WAR 11

Soroptimist International Cheshire, North Wales & Wirral Region

The Picture slider below shows First Charter Photos of clubs – shown in order of their Charter

 We have 15 clubs working in the Region Cheshire North Wales & Wirral

1933 North Wirral, now SI Birkenhead Regalia
1943 Ellesmere Port & District 1st Charter
1945 Bebington Charter Dinner
1946 Wallasey 1st Charter
1946 Hoylake & West Kirby
1948 Runcorn Frodsham 1st Charter
1948 Bangor & District Charter
1949 Heswall & District 1st Charter
1949 Nantwich 1st Charter
1949 Northwich 1st Charter
1963 Llandudno 1st Charter
1965 Anglesey 1st Charter
1965 RHYL Charter
2015 Chester 1st Charter

In 1945 The North West DU was divided into 3 subdivisions

The 3 divisions were North, Central & South. The Southern subdivision became the Divisional Union of Cheshire, North Wales & Wirral in 1949 and included Birkenhead, Wrexham, Bebington, Hoylake & West Kirby, Wallasey, Ellesmere Port, 1st Chester Club, Runcorn/Frodsham, Nantwich, Northwich, Heswall & Bangor

Colwyn Bay & Denbigh joined in 1951 and later in the 1960’s Llangollen, Llandudno, Rhyl, Anglesey, Mold & Deeside and Knutsford.

The New Chester club was reformed in 2014 – the first Chester Club having sadly closed in 2000

Please click on highlighted clubs for Club History

Wales Clubs

In 1965  A boundary was formally drawn between the DU of Cheshire, North Wales & Wirral & the Divisional Union of South Wales.  Before that the boundary had been fluid & Welsh clubs joined divisional unions according to choice.

The DU of Cheshire North Wales & Wirral continued to expand and in the 1970s Dyffryn Conwy and South Caernarfon were chartered, followed in 1980 by Dolgellau. In 1975 there was further reconfiguration and the Region of SI Cheshire, North Wales & Wirral was formed

In 1985 a booklets produced to  celebrate 50 years of Soroptimist International Cheshire North Wales & Wirral click here to see photographed copy 50 years of SI of Cheshire North Wales & Wirral 1935 – 1985

Clubs working in the Region of Cheshire North Wales & Wirral



Bangor & District




Denbigh, Ruthin & District

Ellesmere Port & District

Heswall & District

Llandudno & District

Nantwich & District

Northwich & District

Rhyl & District

Runcorn, Frodsham & District

South Caernarfonshire


Unfortunately a number of clubs really important to our Region have now closed:

Wrexham Chartered 1939 – Closed 2016

The first Chester Club Chartered in 1940 – Closed in 2000

Hoylake & West Kirby Chartered 1946 – closed 2019

Colwyn Bay & District Chartered 1951 – Closed 2012

Llangollen Chartered 1960 – Closed 2008

Mold & Deeside Chartered 1962 – Closed 1998

Knutsford & District Chartered 1966 – Closed 2001

Dyffryn Conwy Chartered 1978 – Closed 2017

Dolgellau Chartered 1980 – Closed 2016