Skip links

The Presidential Roll of Honour

Please click on highlighted Presidents for more information

1923-25 Kathleen, Viscountess Falmouth Greater London President

Presidents of National Union of Soroptimist Clubs of Great Britain

(Part of The European Federation Until 1934)

1927-28 Mrs Elspeth Fox Pitt Greater London Dress Designer
1928-29 Mrs Lilian J Hetley Greater London Leatherwork
1929-31 Dr Elizabeth Hunt BA,MB,ChB Liverpool Dermatologist
1931-33 Miss Helen Catto MBE,MA Glasgow Chief Woman Officer LMS
1933-34 Lady Barrett CH,CBE,MD,MS Greater London Gynaecologist
1934-35 Miss M F Adams OBE,MA, LLD Liverpool Headmistress


Presidents of The European Federation of Soroptimist Clubs


1928-29     Miss Amie D Kerr Sander           Greater London         Translator

1929-30     Dr Elizabeth Hunt BA,MB,ChB    Liverpool                   Dermatologist

Presidents of The Federation Of Soroptimist International of Great Britain And Ireland

(Formally National Union of Soroptimist Clubs of Great Britain)

1934-35 Miss M F Adams OBE,MA,LLD Liverpool Headmistress
1935-36 Miss E P Smith BA, PhD Dundee College Lecturer
1936-37 Mrs E Cockroft MBE,JP Halifax Councillor
1937-38 Miss E Hawes MBE Greater London Optician
1938-39 Miss H L M Gibbs OBE,MA,BCL Birmingham Barrister
1939-41 Mrs H D Williams MBE,JP Swansea Councillor
1941-42 Miss E Macgillivray Edinburgh Confectioner
1942-43 Miss E Glen Dobie MPS North Wirral Pharmacist
1943-44 Miss M P Eggleston Sheffield Manpower Officer, Min.Labour
1944-45 Miss Mary Grose Bristol Company Director
1945-46 Miss F M Bailey MBE,FCIS Bradford Company Director
1946-47 Dr M M Stevenson Glasgow Medicine, General Practitioner
1947-48 Miss M A Cox OBE,JP Bradford District Controller, Min.Labour
1948-49 Miss G E Holloway BA Dublin College Principal
1949-50 Miss D Warner FCIS,JP Leicester Chartered Secretary
1950-51 Miss M H Bradley NFF Cambridge College Vice Principal
1951-52 Dr Violet Parkes OBE,JP Sutton Coldfield Medicine, General Practitioner
1952-53 Dr E D Griffiths Ellesmere Port Medicine, General Practitioner
1953-54 Miss Muriel Bond MSc Central London Lecturer in Physiology
1954-55 Mrs D McNabb BA,MP Lurgan, N.Ireland Member(Stormont) Parliament
1955-56 Miss G E Allen BSc Chesterfield Principal Teacher Training College
1956-57 Miss R E Morris BA Sutton Headmistress
1957-58 Miss M A North Dewsbury Domestic Science Organiser
1958-59 Miss P A B Macdonald RGN Preston Welfare Officer, Nursing Sister
1959-60 Miss K M Halpin CBE Greater London Chief Regional Admin WRVS
1960-61 Miss B A Burton JP Manchester Company Director
1961-62 Dr M Esslemont CBE,JP,MA,LLD Aberdeen Medicine, General Practitioner
1962-63 Miss G P Thyer-Jones MA, LLB Llanelli Headmistress
1963-64 Mrs M Stallard Barnstaple Lawyer
1964-65 Mrs A N Mcillrath Belfast Head Teacher
1965-66 Miss J Stovell Croydon Milliner
1966-67 Miss M K Murray Birmingham Publicity Manager
1967-68 Mrs E L Lambert Gateshead Solicitor
1968-69 Miss E M Denham Worcester County Children’s Officer
1969-70 Miss M E Collington BA,BSc North London HM Inspector of Factories
1970-71 Miss F Mackenzie Whyte MBE,MA Edinburgh Gov. College of Education
1971-72 Miss B Grosvenor CBE Killarney Farmer
1972-73 Miss Thelma Jarret MBE Melbourne Migrant Education
1973-74 Miss Hilda Richardson MA Cambridge Sec to Learned Society
1974-75 Ms Hilda Ruth Harris MD,FRCPath Wrexham Pathologist
1975-76 Miss C Evans MA,BSc,JP Southport Headmistress
1976-77 Judge Daffodil Cosgrave Hastings & Bexhill Judge
1977-78 Miss K Collin JP Warrington Tax Consultant
1978-79 Mrs Catharine Salt Glasgow South Hotelier
1979-80 Dr Jean M Sheach MD,DMRD Exeter Radiologist
1980-81 Dr Priscilla E Turnbull MRCGP Dundee Medicine General Practitioner
1981-82 Mrs Viola Hewitt BA,LLCM Lurgan, N Ireland Principal, School Speech Drama
1982-83 Ms T M de Leeuw GRSM,LRAM,ARCM Bingley Student Advisor, High Education
1983-84 Mrs Margaret Hutchings Chepstow Chartered Secretary
1984-85 Miss Muriel Bowers Cork, Rep. Ireland Property Company Director
1985-86 Dr Celeste Muir Ashford, Kent Medicine General Practitioner
1986-87 Miss Kate Fussell FRCS Wigan Surgeon
1987-88 Mrs Hilary Shaw Sunderland Architectural Designer
1988-89 Mrs Anne Brian Stockport University Administrator
1989-90 Mrs Hilary Page MBE Lewisham Civil Service Reg Welfare Officer
1990-91 Mrs Jane Barrie BSc,ARCS Taunton Stockbroker
1991-92 Miss Brenda P Jackson JP, LL.D Sheffield Vice Chair, Health Authority
1992-93 Miss Irene Darlaston Nuneaton Information Manager
1993-94 Mrs Dorothy (Llewellyn) Jamieson Great Yarmouth Improvement Grants Officer
1994-95 Miss Helen Adamson Glasgow West Museum Curator
1995-96 Miss Patricia Fahey Crosby Chief Probation Officer
1996-97 Mrs Olive Newton MA JP Neath Justice of Peace
1997-98 Mrs Vourneen (Jo) Darbyshire Blackpool Solicitor
1998-99 Mrs Pamela Lee Isle Of Wight NHS Lay Person
1999-00 Dr Elizabeth Harrison King’s Lynn Medicine General Practitioner
2000-01 Mrs Hilary Shaw Keighley Solicitor
2001-02 Mrs Lynn Dunning Ramsbottom Head Teacher
2002-03 Dr Joan Smyth CBE Bangor N Ireland Chairman Transport Company
2003-04 Mrs Ann Garvie Glasgow West Director Private Health Care
2004-05 Mrs Janet Garnons-Williams The Medway Towns Solicitor
2005-06 Mrs Ann Dawson Stafford Staff Development Officer
2006-07 Dr Hilary-Kay Young Dundee University Senior Lecturer
2007-08 Mrs Marguerite Woodstock-Riley Barbados Attorney-at-Law
2008-09 Miss Carwen Wynne-Howells Haverfordwest Chief Pharmaceutical Adviser
2009-10 Mrs Jackie Mosedale Yeovil Property Country Residence
2010-11 Ms Liz Morgan-Lewis Winchester Strategic Communications
2011-12 Mrs Maureen Maguire Lurgan Manager Health Social Care
2012-13 Ms Pat  Black Edinburgh Education Consultant
2013-14 Mrs Margaret Oldroyd Nottingham Magistrate
2014-15 Ms Jenny Vince Oxford and District Medical Company Consultant
2015-16 Dr Margaret Emsley Ashton-under-Lyne University Lecturer
2016-17 Mrs Ann Hodgson Cwmbran and District Voluntary Worker
2017-18 Mrs Susan Biggs Burnley Teacher
2018-19 Mrs Sue Williams Paisley Inspector of Schools
2019-20 Miss Isobel Smith Solihull Behavioural Change Consultant
2020-21 Mrs Johanna Raffan MBE Thames Valley Director of NACE

Presidents of Soroptimist International

(Formerly Soroptimist International Association) From Soroptimist International of Great Britain and Ireland

1956-60 Dr Violet Parkes OBE, JP
1967-69 Mrs Marion Stallard
1977-79 Mrs Hilda Richardson MA
1981-83 Mrs Catharine Salt
1989-91 Miss Thelma de LeeuwGRSM, LRAM, ARCM
1997-99 Mrs Hilary Page MBE
2005-07 Mrs Lynn Dunning
2013-15 Mrs Ann Garvie

Past Honorary Life Members of Soroptimist International of Great Britain and Ireland

Miss Emily Crawford FCA

Mrs Phyllis Newman

Mrs Ailsa Stanley OBE, JP

Honorary Life Members of Soroptimist International of Great Britain and Ireland

Mrs Anne Ainsworth

Mrs Margaret Alderson

Mrs Hilary Page MBE

Miss Thelma M de Leeuw GRSM,LRAM,ARCM

Mrs Margaret Cook

Mrs Hilary Clavering

Mrs Ann Garvie