Skip links

Soroptimists in Great Britain & Ireland

Soroptimist International Federation Great Britain & Ireland SIGBI

The Federation of Great Britain & Ireland was established in 1934 when Britain split away from the rest of Europe and became the third Federation of Soroptimist International after America and Europe. Extension progressed rapidly, and many clubs were formed.

In June 1935 it was decided to form  9 Divisional Unions (DU) in the United kingdom – Each DU sending a representative to Federation meetings. Over time these 9 Divisional Unions changed shape and in 1975 became the 17 Regions of the United Kingdom

Please click on highlighted Regions and Clubs for History

Cheshire, North Wales & Wirral Region:

SI Anglesey SI Bebington  SI Birkenhead  SI Chester  SI Denbigh Ruthin  SI Heswall  SI Llandudno  SI Nantwich  SI Northwich  SI Runcorn/Frodsham  SI Wallasey SI South Caernarfonshire

London Anglia 

 SI London East

London Chilterns Region:

SI High Wycombe  St Albans & District

Midland Arden

Midland Chase Region:

 SI Walsall SI Wolverhampton SI Lichfield & District

Midland East Region:

SI The Dukeries SI Lincoln

SI Leicester

Northern England Region:

SI Newcastle Upon Tyne      SI Stockton-on-Tees  SI Sunderland

Northern Ireland Region:

SI Londonderry

North West England & Isle of Man Region:

Scotland North Region:

SI Aberdeen   

Scotland South

South East England Region:

SI Canterbury  SI East Grinstead  SI Tunbridge Wells  SI Medway & Maidstone

South Lancashire Region:

 SI Leigh & District

Southern England

SI Bournemouth   SI Woking

South West and Channel Islands Region:

SI Bristol  SI Barnstaple  SI Brixham SI Swindon

Wales South Region

SI Abergavenny & District SI Haverfordwest SI Port Talbot SI Swansea

Yorkshire Region:

SI Sheffield SI Skipton-in-Craven SI Wakefield 

Republic of Ireland